

www.nelincs.gov.uk

NORTH EAST LINCOLNSHIRE COUNCIL MINUTES OF THE MEETING HELD ON

6th September, 2018

PRESENT: Councillor Chase (in the Chair) Councillors Barber, Barfield, Beasant, Bolton, Brookes, Cairns, Cracknell, Dickerson, Goodwin, Harness, Hasthorpe, Hyldon-King, Jackson, James, Lindley, Mickleburgh, Mill, Nichols, Nici, Oxby, Patrick, Pettigrew, Procter, Rodwell, Rogers, Rudd, Shepherd, Sheridan, Shreeve, Silvester, Swinburn, Walker, Watson, K. Wheatley, P. Wheatley and Wilson.

OFFICERS:	Rob Walsh	Chief Executive
	Simon Jones	Chief Legal and Monitoring Officer
	Sharon Wroot	Director of Finance, Operations and
		Resources - Section 151 Officer
	Paul Windley	Democratic and Scrutiny Team Manager

NEL.54 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence from this meeting were received from Councillor Darby, De Freitas, Fenty and Freeston.

NEL.55 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interests were made with regards to any items on the agenda.

NEL.56 MOTION TO COUNCIL

Council considered a Notice of Motion, to be proposed by Councillor Jackson and seconded by Councillor Shreeve, submitted in accordance with the Council's Standing Orders as set out below:

North East Lincolnshire Council currently operates a non-statutory Local Council Tax Support Scheme (LCTSS) where, for working age households, the Council's

level of support can be up to 75% with households contributing a minimum of only a quarter of the overall council tax liability. This results in a loss of council tax income to the Council of about £5 million per year and means we have less to spend on the delivery of frontline services and that other households, on low incomes but not entitled to a LCTSS discount, have to bear a disproportionate council tax burden.

In 2017, neighbouring North Lincolnshire Council amended its LCTSS to require a 50% minimum contribution from working age households. This will raise about an extra £1.3 million per year income and experience to date has shown an insignificant drop in the council tax collection rate and a reduction in summonses.

The Council is asked to agree to go out to immediate public consultation on similarly reducing its maximum discount for working age households to 50% (public consultation is a statutory requirement as this is deemed to be a material change in the LCTSS), with a view to a final decision as to whether to proceed to the lower discount rate being taken at the December 2018 Full Council meeting. The Council is also asked to agree that all three Group Leaders be consulted on and agree the wording of the proposed public consultation. Further that the result of the consultation be received by Cabinet and referred to Full Council for its meeting in December 2018.

It is calculated that such a reduction in the discount would result in additional recurrent billable income for NELC of almost £1.7 million per year, available for spending on services or for offsetting future council tax increases.

The suggested reduction would only affect non-statutory council tax discounts. Single person discounts would be unaffected as would pensioner households. Other vulnerable and low income groups such as apprentices, young people in training, students, hospital patients, people living in care homes, severely mentally impaired people, carers, residents over 18 where child benefit is still in payment are also protected by statute and their discounts would be unaffected.

The motion was debated, during which Councillor James moved the closure motion "that the vote be put". This was seconded by Councillor Sheridan, and the Mayor put this closure motion to the vote. The closure motion was declared carried and Councillor Jackson's motion was put to the vote. A recorded vote was held in accordance with the requirements of the Council's Standing Orders; the votes cast were recorded as follows:

For the Motion

Councillors Brookes, Cairns, Cracknell, Dickerson, Harness, Hasthorpe, Jackson, Lindley, Nici, Pettigrew, Procter, Shepherd, Shreeve, Silvester and Swinburn (15 votes).

Against the Motion

Councillors Barber, Barfield, Beasant, Bolton, Chase, Goodwin, Hyldon-King, James, Mickleburgh, Mill, Nichols, Oxby, Patrick, Rodwell, Rogers, Rudd, Sheridan, Walker, Watson, K. Wheatley, P. Wheatley and Wilson (22 votes).

The motion was therefore lost.

There being no further business, the Mayor declared the meeting closed at 8.24 p.m.