

To be submitted to the Council at its meeting on 26th September 2024

STANDARDS AND ADJUDICATION COMMITTEE – REFERRALS PANEL

21st August 2024 at 1.30pm

Present:

Councillors Aisthorpe, Farren and K Swinburn

Officers in attendance:

- Eve Richardson-Smith (Deputy Monitoring Officer)
- Rachel Marshall (Executive Member Support Officer)

SREF.1 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN

RESOLVED – That Councillor Farren be appointed Chair for this meeting of the referrals panel.

COUNCILLOR FARREN IN THE CHAIR

SREF.2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest received in respect of any item on the agenda for this meeting.

SREF.3 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED – That the press and public be excluded from the remainder of the meeting on the grounds that discussion of the following business was likely to disclose exempt information within paragraph 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended).

SREF.4 COMPLAINT MO/06/2024

The panel considered the above complaint in accordance with the local standards arrangements arising from the Localism Act 2011 and as adopted by this Council on the 29th June 2012.

The panel were given the opportunity to ask the Deputy Monitoring Officer any questions regarding the complaint and the Independent Person's views.

The panel was satisfied that the complaint met Stage 1 of the Assessment Criteria but not Stage 2 and concurred with the view of the Deputy Monitoring Officer that no further action be taken as it was not in the public interest for the complaint to be investigated as a breach of the Council's Code of Conduct.

The Panel decided that the question of anonymity was not required, only being relevant as to whether or not to withhold the complainant's details if the complaint progressed to investigation and were then in the public domain.

RESOLVED – That, having carefully considered the documents filed, no further action be taken on complaint MO/06/2024 as the stage 2 assessment criteria had not been met.

There being no further business, the Chair declared the meeting closed at 1.45 p.m.