

To be submitted to the Council at its meeting on 25th September 2025

STANDARDS AND ADJUDICATION COMMITTEE – REFERRALS PANFI

2nd July 2025 at 11.00 a.m.

Present:

Councillors Beasant, Farren and K Swinburn

Officers in attendance:

- Eve Richardson-Smith (Deputy Monitoring Officer)
- Rachel Marshall (Executive Member Support Officer)

SREF.6 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN

RESOLVED – That Councillor K Swinburn be appointed Chair for this meeting of the referrals panel.

COUNCILLOR K SWINBURN IN THE CHAIR

SREF.7 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest received in respect of any item on the agenda for this meeting.

SREF.8 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED – That the press and public be excluded from the remainder of the meeting on the grounds that discussion of the following business was likely to disclose exempt information within paragraph 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended).

SREF.9 COMPLAINT MO/04/2025

The panel considered the above complaint in accordance with the local standards arrangements.

The panel were given the opportunity to ask the Deputy Monitoring Officer any questions regarding the complaint and the Independent Person's views.

The panel was satisfied that the complaint met Stage 1 of the Assessment Criteria but not Stage 2 and concurred with the view of the Deputy Monitoring Officer and Independent Person that no further action be taken as it was not in the public interest for the complaint to be investigated as a breach of the Council's Code of Conduct.

RESOLVED -

- 1. That, after having carefully considered the documents filed, no further formal action be taken on complaint MO/04/2025 as the Stage 2 Assessment Criteria had not been met.
- 2. That a letter be sent by the Deputy Monitoring Officer on behalf of the Referrals Panel, requesting that the councillor be more mindful of the language used on social media and what the expectations were for an Elected Member's behaviour.

There being no further business, the Chair declared the meeting closed at 11.20 a.m.