North East Lincolnshire Council

New cabinet for North East Lincolnshire

A new team at the top will take North East Lincolnshire Council forward for the next year.

The new Council Cabinet has been agreed for 2015-16 at the council’s Annual General Meeting last night (Thursday May 26th).
The make-up of the Cabinet is as follows:

  • Cllr Ray Oxby is Leader of the Council
  • Cllr Dave Watson : Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Energy and Environment
  • Cllr Peter Wheatley: Portfolio Holder for Regeneration, Skills and Housing
  • Cllr Jane Hyldon-King: Portfolio Holder for Health and Wellbeing
  • Cllr Matt Patrick: Portfolio Holder for Finance, Resources and Inclusion
  • Cllr Ros James: Portfolio Holder for Children and Young People
  • Cllr Hazel Chase: Portfolio Holder for Safer Communities, Public Protection and the Visitor Economy

Councillor Oxby said: “ While we’ve made significant progress on our twin priorities of building a stronger economy and stronger communities, there’s still a whole range of challenges not only the Council, but the whole area faces, not least in tackling the austerity measures and improving the health and well-being of our residents.
“ But we must also be positive about making the most of the opportunities presented by issues such as our growing role in the energy and renewables industry and the devolution agenda to bring more power and resources away from Whitehall and back to local people.
“Each Cabinet member, and indeed each Council member, brings different experience and know-how to the table and as such, while remaining firmly true to Labour principles, I’m also committed to working pragmatically with all political shades to make sure the progress we’ve made continues and we get the best deal for our community here in North East Lincolnshire.’’

In addition to the new Cabinet, the following appointments were made to Scrutiny Panels and Committees:

Children And Young People Scrutiny Panel
Chairman – Cllr Lindley
Deputy Chairman – Cllr Cracknell

Health Scrutiny Panel
(Including Adult Social Care)
Chairman – Cllr Dickerson
Deputy Chairman – Cllr Brookes

Tourism, Leisure and Culture Scrutiny Panel
Chairman – Cllr Hasthorpe
Deputy Chairman – Cllr Shepherd

Safer and Stronger Communities Scrutiny Panel
Chairman – Cllr Shreeve
Deputy Chairman – Cllr Colquhoun

Regeneration, Environment and Housing Scrutiny Panel
Chairman – Cllr Jackson
Deputy Chairman – Cllr Shreeve

Planning Committee
Chairman – Cllr Burton
Deputy Chairman- Cllr Colquhoun

Standards and Adjudication Committee
Chairman – Cllr Walker
Deputy Chairman- Cllr Brown

Appointments Committee
Chairman – Cllr Oxby
Deputy Chairman – Cllr Watson

Audit and Governance Committee
Chairman – Mr Tim Render
Deputy Chairman – Cllr Shreeve

Licensing and Community Protection Committee
Chairman – Cllr Brown
Deputy Chairman – Cllr Mickleburgh

Share this: